Welcome to the RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence 2024. You can start your entry now, saving and making as many changes as you like until the entry deadline 15 March, 11:59 pm. Entry is free.

Entering the Awards for Planning Excellence offers a fantastic opportunity to celebrate your professional achievements and showcase your work.

Our Awards continue to recognise and reward the brightest talent in the profession; the most outstanding projects, teams and people helping to transform economies, environments, and communities. Some categories are entered through your region/nation and others are entered directly into the national awards. 

We will be recognising exceptional plans, projects, and people in these 15 categories:

• Excellence in Plan Making Practice

• Excellence in Planning for a Successful Economy
• Excellence in Planning for Health and Wellbeing
• Excellence in Planning for Heritage and Culture
• Excellence in Planning for the Natural Environment
• Excellence in Planning for Communities (small schemes under 50 homes)
• Excellence in Planning for Communities (large schemes of 50 homes or more)
• Excellence in Digital Planning Practice (direct to national)
• International Award for Planning Excellence (direct to national)

• In-house Planning Team of the Year (direct to national)
• Small Planning Consultancy of the Year
• Planning Consultancy of the Year (direct to national)
• Planning Authority of the Year
• Inspirational Leader of the Year (direct to national)
• Young Planner of the Year

Some English Regions will also open for entries to their regional Chair’s Award.

Complete your entry in seven easy steps:
1. Select your best work completed between 2022 and 2023. (For Young Planners, choose your best achievements over recent years.)
2. Select the location of your entry from the ENTER dropdown in the main menu above, and choose from our 15 categories to best showcase your work.
3. Create your account. Note, this will allow you to log in and modify your entry at any time before you make your final submission.
4. Familiarise yourself with the judging criteria.
5. Read the guide on how to win.
6. Complete the entry form and choose up to five great images to showcase your work.
7. Send your entry by 11.59 pm, 15 March 2024.

The judging process
The RTPI Awards for Planning Excellence has 15 national award categories. 10 of these categories are first judged through the region/nation they are entered into. The remaining 5 will go directly to the national judging process. Regions and nations will be awarding the below:
  • Best Plan
  • Best Project
  • Planning Authority of the Year
  • Small Planning Consultancy of the Year
  • Young Planner of the Year*

These winners become national finalists. The shortlisted project entries are put through for judging in the national awards and will be judged against the other projects in their selected categories for the national finalist list. The remaining five direct to national categories are also judged to complete the national finalist list of 15 categories. The winners and commendations are announced at the national ceremony in November.

*All Young Planner of the Year winners will be entered into the national shortlist and will be judged by the national judges and the top five will become national finalists.

If you have any questions, please view our FAQs or contact awards@rtpi.org.uk

Good luck.